Erosion

Coastal erosion is the natural process responsible for the reduction of beaches, the retreat of dunes and cliffs. It shapes the coast by the action of waves, currents and wind.

On rocky coasts, it is manifested by the excavation of the cliffs, which weakened by the infiltration of rainwater into the rock, leads to their collapse. Recall that, by definition, cliffs are forms of erosion, so they can only recede.

On coasts of soft sediment (sand, gravel), the balance depends on the amount of material that is deposited on the shore from other sources (sandbanks, other beaches, eroded cliffs, etc.) and the amount that escapes. If the sediment balance is positive, the shore advances towards the sea (accretion). If it is negative, the coast recedes (erosion). The current period is characterized by a shortage of coastal sediments since the reserve formed during the last ice age is now almost consumed. This is why many European sedimentary coasts are subject to erosion.

Coastal erosion occurs mainly when winds are violent, large waves and at high tide episodes with big coefficients, especially if the storm drives these energies towards the coast in the form of storm waves (acute erosion). Along time, the succession of stormy episodes can lead to a sharp decline in the coast width (structural erosion).

The rate of erosion is measured in volume / length / time (e.g. m3/m/year), but since it is often used to show the rate of coastal decline, it is generally expressed in m/year. The speed of retreat depends on many factors (type of coast, energy of the waves and the tides, etc.) and can be from a few centimeters to tens of meters per year.

Human influence on the coastal zone has turned the natural phenomenon of coastal erosion into a social problem of increasing intensity. Urbanization and economic activities are very important on coastal areas, which leads to coastal engineering, river basin regulation (particularly dams), dredging, land clearing, extraction of marine aggregates, sand, natural gas, water and land occupancy requests (EUROSION, 2004), which together aggravate the erosion phenomenon in areas where it already existed naturally, but which sometimes lead to the decline of the coast in areas that were not affected by this natural phenomena.

Thus, coastal erosion is the result of a combination of factors, both natural and anthropogenic, that act at different scales.

It is important to keep in mind that the supply of sand needed to maintain beaches and coastal dunes depends on the erosion of other coastal areas and that these beaches and dunes are a very valuable natural defence against coastal flooding.

Resources

ANCORIM case studies

Gâvres Peninsula

(Cap Lorient, France)

Case of study : The Gâvres PeninsulaThe Lorient municipalities grouping organised the first case study days for the  ANCORIM programme on 6 and 7 October, 2010

Esmoriz-Cortegaça

(Portugal)

Case of study : Esmoriz-CortegaçaThis Case Study aims to evaluate alternatives for development planning and coastal defence to minimize erosion problems in the maritime boundaries of the two settlements.

ANCORIM tools

Overview of soft coastal protection solutions

Overview of soft coastal protection solutionsThis didactic tool offers a sample group of solutions to limit coastal erosion and advances the importance of «soft» solutions as much as possible.

Decision Making and Coastal Risks: A Good Practice Guide

Decision Making and Coastal Risks: A Good Practice GuideThe objective of this handbook is to provide a Good Practice Guide to facilitate the inclusion of coastal risk into decisions made in the coastal zone.

Other ressources
Case studies

EUCC Atlantic Center and the team of ARCOSLIFE Arenales Costeros project organized a field workshop in the Cantabrian dunes (Spain) on 25 and 26 April 2017. Two dune systems under strong human pressure, the dunes of Liencres and Somo, near Santander were studied

Scientists and local actors (elected officials, managers, practitioners and users) meet on a coastal site that is particularly interesting because of the problems of integrated management, protection of the natural environment and sustainable development that it raises.

Assessment and management tools

The RISC-KIT project developed the following tools to identify and prioritize the coastal zones which are most at risk.

The objective of the COCORISCO project was to understand the vulnerability of coastal territories to the risks of erosion and submergence and to move towards prevention and management strategies.

This toolkit is a practical guide to engaging communities on the issues of coastal erosion and sea level rise.

Studies and publications

Europe-wide study meant to provide quantified evidence that coastal erosion in Europe does constitute a problem of growing magnitude that public authorities do not always succeed in containing, hence to assess the needs for action.

If you wish to share with network members information that it is not in this website, do not hesitate to send us.

Érosion

L’érosion côtière est le processus naturel responsable de l’abaissement des plages, du recul des dunes et des falaises. Elle façonne les côtes par l’action des vagues, des courants et du vent.

Sur les côtes rocheuses, elle se manifeste par le creusement du pied des falaises fragilisées par l’infiltration d’eaux pluviales dans la roche, conduisant à leur éboulement. Rappelons que, par définition, les falaises sont des formes d’érosion, elles ne peuvent que reculer.

Sur les côtes de sédiments meubles, elle dépend du bilan entre la quantité de matériaux qui se dépose sur le rivage en provenance d’autres sources (bancs de sable, autres plages, falaises érodées, etc.) et celle qui s’en échappe. Si ce bilan sédimentaire est positif, les rivages s’avancent vers la mer (accrétion). S’il est négatif, les côtes reculent (érosion). La période actuelle est caractérisée par une pénurie de sédiments côtiers puisque le stock constitué au cours de la dernière époque glaciaire est maintenant quasiment consommé. C’est pourquoi de nombreuses côtes sédimentaires européennes sont soumises à l’érosion.

L’érosion côtière se manifeste principalement lorsque les vents sont violents, les vagues hautes et au moment des pleines mers de grands coefficients, en particulier lorsque la tempête entraîne ces énergies vers la côte sous la forme d’ondes de tempête (érosion aiguë). Au fil du temps, la succession d’épisodes tempétueux peut entraîner un net recul de la côte (érosion structurelle).

Le taux d’érosion est mesuré en volume/ longueur/temps (ex : m3/m/an), mais, parce qu’il est souvent utilisé pour montrer la vitesse du recul de la ligne de côte, il est généralement exprimé en m/an. La vitesse de recul dépend de multiples facteurs (type de côte, énergie des vagues et des marées,…) et varie de quelques centimètres à des dizaines de mètres par an.

L’influence humaine dans la zone côtière a transformé le phénomène naturel d’érosion côtière en un problème sociétal d’intensité croissante. L’urbanisation et les activités économiques exercent un poids considérable sur les zones côtières, entraînant des travaux d’ingénierie côtière, de régulation des bassins fluviaux (en particulier la construction de barrages), des dragages, des défrichements, l’extraction de granulats marins, de sable, de gaz naturel et d’eau et des demandes d’occupation de terrains (EUrosion, 2004), autant d’éléments qui amplifient l’érosion là où elle se manifeste déjà mais qui parfois conduisent au recul de certains secteurs que les phénomènes naturels n’affectaient pas.

L’érosion côtière est donc le résultat d’une combinaison de facteurs, à la fois naturels et anthropiques, qui agissent à différentes échelles.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que l’approvisionnement en sable nécessaire au maintien des plages et des dunes côtières dépend de l’érosion d’autres secteurs côtiers et que ces plages et ces dunes sont une défense naturelle très précieuse contre la submersion marine.

Documents projet ANCORIM

Études de cas ANCORIM

Presqu’île de Gâvres

(Cap Lorient agglomération, France)

Etude de cas : Presqu'île de GâvresLa Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays de Lorient a organisé les premières journées d’études de cas du programme ANCORIM les 6 et 7 octobre 2010…

Esmoriz-Cortegaça

(Portugal)

Etude de cas : Esmoriz-CortegaçaEsmoriz et Cortegaça sont deux centres urbains côtiers hautement protégés grâce à des épis et perrés (environ 2km le long de la côte)…

Outils ANCORIM

Panorama des solutions douces de protection des côtes

Panorama des solutions douces de protection des côtesFace aux problématiques d’érosion côtière et de submersion marine, beaucoup de solutions dites « dures » ont été mises en place ces dernières années…

Prise de décision et risques côtiers : guide de bonnes pratiques

Prise de décision et risques côtiers : guide de bonnes pratiquesLes risques côtiers ne sont pas toujours pris en compte dans les processus de planification territoriale et d’aménagement du territoire…

Autres ressources
Cas pratiques

EUCC Atlantique et l’équipe du projet ARCOSLIFE Arenales Costeros ont organisé un atelier de terrain dans les dunes de Cantabrie les 25 et 26 avril 2017. Deux systèmes dunaires soumis à une forte pression anthropique, les dunes de Liencres et de Somo, près de Santander ont été étudiés.

Scientifiques et acteurs locaux (élus, gestionnaires, praticiens et usagers) se réunissent sur un site littoral particulièrement intéressant par les problématiques de gestion intégrée, de protection de l’environnement naturel et de développement durable qu’il soulève.

Études et publications

Étude de dimension européenne visant à quantifier l’ampleur du phénomène d’érosion côtière et évaluer dans quelle mesure ce phénomène constitue un

problème d’intensité croissante auquel les pouvoirs publics ont de plus en plus de mal à faire face.

Outils évaluation et gestion des risques

Le projet RISC-KIT a développé des outils  pour identifier et prioriser les zones côtières les plus à risque

L’objectif du projet COCORISCO était de comprendre la vulnérabilité des territoires côtiers aux risques d’érosion et de submersion et de progresser vers des stratégies de prévention et de gestion.

Guide pratique sur la mobilisation et le travail avec des populations locales sur la problématique de l’érosion côtière et l’élévation du niveau de la mer.

Si vous souhaitez partager avec les membres du réseau des informations qui ne figurent pas dans ce site, n’hésitez pas à nous les envoyer.